Executive Directors

Until 1996, the Stephen Joseph Theatre (or more accurately the Library Theatre and its subsequent home, the Stephen Joseph Theatre In The Round) was run by the Artistic Director - originally Stephen Joseph, later Alan Ayckbourn.

When the company moved to its present home - the Stephen Joseph Theatre - in 1996, the administration structure of the company substantially changed. The Stephen Joseph Theatre was a far larger organisation than the company had ever previously been and was also in its first purpose-built and long-term home. To reflect these changes, the role of General Administrator was created to run alongside the Artistic Director. The General Administrator was essentially responsible for running the building whilst the Artistic Director was responsible for the Artistic vision and direction of the company. Nominally there was parity between the two roles, but it would not be wrong to suggest Alan Ayckbourn - as Artistic Director - held the balance of power until 2006.

In 2006, Alan Ayckbourn had a stroke and the running of the theatre for the next six months fell to the Executive Director (the title to which General Administrator had been altered to in 2004). Alan Ayckbourn returned in September 2006 but announced his retirement in 2007. Between 2006 and 2007, the balance of power thus fell to the Executive Director.

When the new Artistic Director, Chris Monks, was announced in 2009, there was parity between the role of the Artistic Director and the Executive Director as originally intended. However when Stephen Wood retired as Executive Director in 2015, it was announced by the Scarborough Theatre Trust Board that a new position of Chief Executive would be created to which the Artistic Director (and all other departments) would report to.

There have been four incumbents in the role since 1996 with Stephen Wood being initially the General Administrator, later Executive Director. Mathew Russell was the interim Chief Executive between 2015 - 2016 with Steve Russell the Executive Director from June 2016 to December 2018. In spring 2019, Caroline Routh was appointed the Executive Director of the SJT taking over on 29 Match 2019.

Executive Directors

Stephen Wood (1996 - 2015)
Mathew Russell (2015 - 2016 - Chief Executive)
Stephen Freeman (2016 - 2018)
Caroline Routh (2019 - present)

All research for this section by Simon Murgatroyd. Please do not reproduce without crediting Simon Murgatroyd and the website.